Share a Dashboard or Self Service Report with Users
Describes how to share a dashboard with users within your account.
Your users can share dashboards easily amongst themselves in a user-friendly manner. Allow them to grant and revokeVIEWER, COMMENTER, or EDITOR access level to a dashboard for sharing. When a user shares a dashboard, the users who receive it can access the underlying visuals and sources used in the dashboard. See Shared Access - Viewers.Control the visibility of this feature in embedded mode by enabling or disabling Share Dashboard in the dashboard interactivity settings.Share dashboards with:
Existing users in a non-tenant environment.
Existing users and groups within a tenant, and optionally with everyone in a tenant using the Share with everyone tab. You must enable dashboard sharing in your tenant environment. See Server-Level Variables.
As an administrator, you can filter users who can receive a dashboard using the recipient rules API. See Configure Recipient Rules.
Open the dashboard or report you wish to share from the list of available dashboards or reports.
Select Share Dashboard or Share Report icon. The Share [Name] work area opens with a Select Users work area visible. In a multi-tenant environment, several tabbed work areas are shown: Select Users, Select Groups, and Share with everyone.Some columns in this work area can be resized or sorted as needed; select the column header break to resize, or select the column name to change the sort.
Select and add users using the work area.
Enter a full or partial user or group name in the search field to find and select existing users and groups.
If you use the Share with everyone work area, you can skip this step.
Select an access level for the selected users, groups, or everyone in your tenant: Viewer, Commenter, or Editor.
All users can see comments associated with widgets in your dashboard when comments are enabled. See Widget Comments for more information on working with comments.
Select Add to grant selected users and groups access to this dashboard or report.Dashboard and report owners and users with Viewer, Commenter, or Editor access to the dashboard or report are listed in the Existing Access list.
If you use the Share with everyone work area, all users are given the access level you selected.
Select Save to save your changes. Any user or group on the Existing Access list retain their access until you revoke their access.
Users with appropriate access can revoke Viewer, Commenter, and Editor access from shared dashboards if needed.If you or your users revoke a recipient’s access to a dashboard, the recipient still has READ access to the visuals and DATA ACCESS to the source. See Shared Access - Viewers.Revoke dashboard viewer, commenter, or editor access
Log in as a user who can share dashboards. Your user account must meet one of the following conditions:To revoke an access level:
Access as the OWNER of a dashboard - the user who created it and has READ, WRITE, and DELETE permissions for it.
Access as the EDITOR of a dashboard - the user who can edit and has READ and WRITE permissions for it.
Select Share Dashboard . The Share [Dashboard Name] work area opens with several tabbed work areas: Select Users, Select Groups, and Share with everyone for tenants in your environment.
Use the Search box to find one or more users or groups in the Existing Access list in the Select Users work area, Select Groups work area, or Share with everyone work area (when you are working within a tenant).
Select the remove icon () next to the user name or group name to remove their access to the dashboard. Select the remove icon as appropriate in the Share with everyone work area.
Select Save to save your changes.
Change dashboard access
Log in as a user who can share dashboards. Your user account must meet one of the following conditions:To change a user’s access level:
Access as the OWNER of a dashboard - the user who created it and has READ, WRITE, and DELETE permissions for it.
Access as the EDITOR of a dashboard - the user who can edit and has READ and WRITE permissions for it.
Select Share Dashboard . The Share [Dashboard Name] work area opens with several tabbed work areas: Select Users, Select Groups, and Share with everyone for tenants in your environment.
Use the Search box to find one or more users or groups in the Existing Access list in the Select Users work area, Select Groups work area, or Share with everyone work area (when you are working within a tenant).
All users can see comments associated with widgets in your dashboard when comments are enabled. See Widget Comments for more information on working with comments.
Select Save to save your changes.
When you revoke access to a dashboard, they can no longer access the dashboard, but may still have access to shared visuals and sources.
Was this page helpful?
Assistant
Responses are generated using AI and may contain mistakes.